Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Router Bit Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Router Bit Question

I'm pretty new to routers but I'm getting my tooling set up and am going to use the router method to cut uniform ribs. I've attached links to two different bits. One is 1/2" diameter and the other 1/4". Would one be more beneficial than the other or does it really matter? Also, the 1/4 inch bit comes in "up cut" or "down cut". Is there a benefit to either up or down cut? Thanks!

http://bearhawkforums.com/forum/tool...odies-business

I've used 1/4 and 1/2 both. I find the 1/4 is useful for inside cuts like holes and inside curves, but for long outside straightaways the 1/2 laminate was butter.
    Last edited by Chewie; 10-05-2015, 12:35 AM.
    Mark
    Scratch building Patrol #275
    Hood River, OR

Comment

For most of the work I used:
      Whiteside Router Bits RFT5125 1/2-Inch Diameter Spiral Flush Trim Up Cut with 1-1/4-Inch Cutting Length

If your intention is to mount it upside down in a router table it has the following advantages:
      1) It pulls the work down on the table during the feed.
      2) The 1/2 inch is slightly easier to control. Router bits yank the work uncontrollably when you take a bite that is greater then the radius of the bit. The uncontrollable nature stops if you can get the bearing against the edge. The practical difference is that it is easier to rough trim your work to 1/4 inch for use with the 1/2 inch bit.
      3) Hot chips go everywhere. The upcut will move some of the chip up into the router where presumably a vacuum will pull them away. There will still be chips everywhere in the area.

It has the following disadvantages: