Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wing Ribs Lightening Hole Diameters

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wing Ribs Lightening Hole Diameters

Sorry for posting so many questions. I'm a new builder and trying to gain as much knowledge as I can BEFORE I start working on the project. I've noticed that the plans do not include diameters for any of the lightening holes in the wing ribs. How do I determine what size to make them? If I make them too big, I suspect I will jeopardize structural integrity of the rib. Too small and the part then becomes heavier than designed. It seems like this would have been a simple measurement to include in the drawings but for the life of me, I can't find it.

I don't think you'll find the measurement. I measured the lightening holes on the plans for the Patrol and then doubled it to get the actual size of the lightening hole (since the drawing was 1/2 scale). I assume it's similar for the LSA.
    Brooks Cone
    Southeast Michigan
    Patrol #303, Kit build

Comment

Thanks. I'll give that a try. At the bottom of my page 3 rib drawing it says, "SCALE DRAWING FOR DIMENSION NOT SHOWN". I think that was throwing me off. However, I do see the scale1=2 in the lower right corner. Still getting used to reading and interpreting plans. Hope my LSA doesnt end up the size of a Sea Fury!

Comment

Originally posted by markcr View Post
        Thanks. I'll give that a try. At the bottom of my page 3 rib drawing it says, "SCALE DRAWING FOR DIMENSION NOT SHOWN". I think that was throwing me off. However, I do see the scale1=2 in the lower right corner. Still getting used to reading and interpreting plans. Hope my LSA doesnt end up the size of a Sea Fury!
        Make sure you pick up a set of engineering scales. they make reading the scalled drawings much easier.