Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wing Chord

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wing Chord

I just wanted to ask a question about the wing chord of the Patrol. My problem is that I looked up the Riblett 30-413.5 information then started to measure drawing #4 , the full scale wing drawing, and noticed that the dimensions I calculate for a 60", 65" and 66" chord don't match up to the drawing. I made a copy of drawing #4 by hand then glued it to a mdf board to make the master forum block. It has been a while since I did any math like this, the last time I did it was in A and P school 8 years ago but being a machinist I wanted to make sure my copy was accurate. The original drawing lines up exactly on the copy.

Dose anyone know if the drawing center lines are the same as the airfoil chord and what length of chord the Patrol wing is?

The way that the Bearhawk and Patrol wings are constructed, the angle of incidence is accounted for in the attachment plates on the root end of the spars. So no worries about alignment. The chord should be somewhere near 65-66". The wing plan with a scale, or the full size rib sheet Mylar and a ruler/tape will tell the story.

Im not sure what you're asking about related to center lines, though. Do you mean the camber arc?
    Last edited by Chris In Milwaukee; 03-30-2017, 07:12 AM.
    Christopher Owens
    Bearhawk 4-Place Scratch Built, Plans 991
    Bearhawk Patrol Scratch Built, Plans P313
    Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

Comment

You can always get another mylar original from Bob.
      You mean the dash CL on the mylar drawing? Yup, chord. I can't get my CAD to open but I recall it's very close to 65". Are you saying the coordinates of 30-413.5 don't match up with your measurements of the drawing? How do they compare?
      Mark
      Scratch building Patrol #275
      Hood River, OR

Comment