Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Future Bearhawk builder/owner in Michigan

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Future Bearhawk builder/owner in Michigan

Howdy y'all.
    I'm planning on building a 4-place Model-B Bearhawk in the (hopefully) near future. Been looking and dreaming about Bearhawks for several years now. I'm an airframe mechanic, and I really like building things around the house and shop, so I was originally thinking about scratchbuilding. However, this will be my first build and I haven't seen a lot of success/completed scratchbuilds, and I will be on somewhat of a time crunch to get done, so I think I will end up buying a QB kit. It just seems like more people have success with those than the other, and frankly, as much as I enjoy building, I also love flying! Besides, I will be building medieval armor, a car, and a motorcycle of my own design after I have my Bearhawk in the air. Those should projects should keep the creative build monster at bay.
    Right now I live in SW Michigan near the Lake, but am planning to move to the Lansing area within the next year, so I kinda can't get started on my Bearhawk until I sell my house and move.
    I'm planning on outfitting it with an O-540, CS prop, and floats. I was originally thinking of straight floats because they're cheaper and lighter, but my wife has me considering amphibians now. I'm also going to be looking for a relatively inexpensive floatplane to fly next year (2018).
    I'm also working on my CFI initial right now and plan to move to Alaska to be a professional backcountry and floatplane pilot around 2021 after I retire from my current job. My goal is to have the Bearhawk done before I move to AK. Thus, the time crunch. If I don't get it done, then I'll just have to finish it in AK, but it would be nice to get it in the air after I arrive.