Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New Member: Harrisonburg, VA and King Salmon, AK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Member: Harrisonburg, VA and King Salmon, AK

Hello everyone! My name is Jason Lux and I am just starting my Bearhawk journey. I am a first time builder working on a Bearhawk Patrol. I current live 6 months/year in Virginia and 6 months in Alaska. I purchased an almost complete set of wing components from another building and will be working on the wings in Virginia this winter. I have ordered a quick-build fuselage from the factory which should be ready next august. Eventually the wings, fuselage kit and all my tools will be shipped to Alaska for final completion. As a newbie I will be looking for all the advice and guidance I can find! Thanks in advance, Jason

Buy your stuff before setting off for Alaska. I use Aircraft Spruce in Georgia, and Wicks in Illinois. Aluminum 12 foot sheets can be rolled. The 12 foot capstrips can not be rolled.

I do not know how old your plans are.

If you have not skinned wing you might still do:

Bob has issued an Engineering Change for the Patrol only: http://bearhawksafety.com/Patrol/february2020.html This update relates to a wing skin stiffener, to be applied to new construction going forward. For technical questions about this update, please contact Bob at 540-473-3661.

From time to time you might check:

I think this guy is amazing

I subscribe to

Also:
    Stan
    Austin Tx

Comment

• Fly Alaska
      Fly Alaska commented
      Editing a comment
      Thanks for the info. I have been watching b-spot videos for a year now, picked up some very good tips and tricks. I do have the plans with the skin stiffener specified. I just ordered my 12' aluminum sheets from Wicks. The local metal supplier couldn't get them. Fortunately I can get the fuel tank material locally.