Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

bearhawk patrol vs. carbon cub ex

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bearhawk patrol vs. carbon cub ex

I am a Canadian private pilot from Manitoba. I currently own and operate a Cessna 150 and an RV-10 from the grass strip on my farm.
    I am planning to upgrade my C-150 to a modern conventional gear aircraft for the following missions:

1. Economical Local flights – crop inspection, sightseeing
    2. Commuting from our lake property approx 80 miles away – utilizing a neighboring unimproved pasture (c/w rough terrain, rocks, bush) for a runway
    3. Perhaps someday doing a dream trip to Alaska along the Rockies

I have narrowed down the search to the Carbon Cub EX and the Bearhawk Patrol. Looking for input...
    1. What would be your opinion on the suitability of either or both of these aircraft for what I have in mind. Based on the research I have done so far, I think that the Carbon Cub is a “slicker”, more cosmetically appealing aircraft with a more comprehensive kit(similar to the RV’s) established reputation and resale market, and a very strong STOL performance. I believe that the Bearhawk Patrol is able to carry more, fly farther and faster, but the kit is more reliant on the builder’s skills, it will have a slightly inferior STOL performance, and the reputation and resale market is not established.
    2. What kind of performance have you seen in areas such as STOL, fuel burn, and speed?
    3. How did you equip the aircraft? and what would your recommendations be?
    4. What was your build experience – time and/or expense required? Extra items that you had to acquire to complete the build?

Any advice you would have would be appreciated.