Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Giant guy, in search of capable planes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Giant guy, in search of capable planes

Hey y'all, I'm a student pilot currently, and am starting to search out a plane that will fit my existing mission and actually support it. At 6'9", 300lb I tend to push the limits on flight envelopes for other experimentals, especially if I want to include any passengers.

While my heart wants a canard (Long EZ style), physics just makes it a stretch without some major structural changes, so I'm jumping around to learn about the other players in the experimental space that can deal with my size comfortably.

Someone mentioned Bearhawk, and while it doesn't quite meet the speedster CX dream doing 1k+ nm at a time, they sure can handle the weight and distribution I'd come with.

My mission IFR capable, solo 50%, 50% ideally with 1 PAX, though 3 PAX is attractive at times, for jumping ~400nm radius around Charlotte NC. I'd estimate 70% of the time within ~150nm. Don't currently have any aspirations for super short fields (any of the main local airports have 2500ft+ airports) but am 100% open to my eyes being opened to the possibilities with a super short landing requirement, especially if it's within travel distance from Charlotte NC.

Basically "hey me and a buddy (or 3) want to jump town for the weekend to X" and would rather fly it than have to drive it / fly it commercial.

I'm pretty wet behind the ears right now, and definitely in that "just trying to find out what I don't know" stage, but am already super grateful for all these different forums and the wealth of knowledge and knowledgeable people!

Happy to hear from anyone, especially if you're a certified giant and have some advice, or if you've got Bearhawk near NC and want to do some fun W&B exercises with an eager learner.