Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

lots of rivets to drill out

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• lots of rivets to drill out

Hey Bearhawkers! It's been a while since I've posted anything. Those of you that know me, know that I'm a VA nurse and I've had to push my BH to the back burner while I finish my masters degree. During this time away from the project, I've been contemplating how to deal with the dreaded problem of drilling out over-driven rivets. In al of my enthusiasm to drive 2000 miles each way to pick up my bearhawk project from the previous owner, I didn't think to grab a set of calipers to check the rivet heads. As such I ended up inspecting them only by eye. Most of the heads looked very nice (likely squeezed), and I went through with the purchase. Unfortunately, most of the rivets are over-driven. This really sucks because one wing is already partially closed up. Just to research my options, I purchased a rivet removal tool from vintage trailer supply to help with the domed head rivets, and it worked great at keeping the drill straight and centered. What astonished me was how far I had to drill through the spar rivets to get them to relax enough that I could punch them out. I'm using the rivet gun to punch them out too, so it's not like I'm just tapping on it. I tried just using a drift and a hammer, but didn't have enough hands to hold something on the other side of the spar to back it up. This has me concerned about the flush rivets. Any words of wisdom would be appreciated.

Luke, How close are the rivet heads to meeting specs? Are you judging them in accordance to the general specifications in AC 43.13 of ".5D x 1.5 D", or are you also applying the more detailed measurements found in the "Military Specifications of Riveting"? I really like "Mil Spec" tolerances. They are more forgiving.