Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Learning to Weld/Getting comfortable with your weld

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learning to Weld/Getting comfortable with your weld

I have a question concerning the welding process..

Is there anyone that started off as a complete novice welder? and at what point were you comfortable with your welds to let them go on the airframe? How will you know when theyre good enough to go on the airframe?

Dan Murphy
    Cary, IL
    Fixin to buy my plans

I was a complete novice short of a high school ag class 20 years earlier. I am gas welding everything as I am not going to pay a bunch of money for a tig welder. My welds looked bad when I first started but after a couple of days I was getting the hang of it. Even the bad welds were strong though they just did not look pretty. I think with gas it is harder to get a pretty weld though. As for TIG welding I can not speak anything about but it looks way more complicated and from my understanding you still have to post heat the weld and let it cool off with a gas torch. You can just tell after some practice when the metal bonds together and becomes one. At that point it is way strong enough to use on the airframe.

Comment

I had never welded prior to beginning my build. I took a 6 week summer class in TIG at the local community college before starting. In hindsight, it was a well spent $250. I think I consumed at least that much money in Argon and filler rod I bought a scrap box of 4130 tubing from Spruce for $25 and spent a few hours every night at home practicing (i bought a TIG machine after class).
      There came a point when I was comfortable enough with my welds to begin actually building parts. The wing steel parts were the first items I fabricated.