Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Engines

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engines

I'm thinking about going for the 360. Do most builders buy the engine first then start building? I'm completely new to this and right now just planning all I can. Where is a good place to start looking for good engines?

Thanks​

I made that mistake. If I had to do it again, I'd wait until later in the build. If you're scratch building, much, much, much later in the build. I've had an engine sitting in my garage for almost ten years now taking up valuable space and nothing to hang it on! You may also have a change of heart at some point during the build and decide you want to use a different engine. Once you have the fuselage tacked together (assuming scratch build), you might consider an engine (or engine core) that you can use to mock up your engine mount and some of the supporting bits around the firewall.

But I wouldn't get in a hurry unless you find yourself a screaming deal on the engine you're absolutely positive you're going to put on your plane.

~Chris
    Christopher Owens
    Bearhawk 4-Place Scratch Built, Plans 991
    Bearhawk Patrol Scratch Built, Plans P313
    Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

Comment

Thanks for the feedback, gives me some options in my plans

Comment

It depends on your approach to the engine. If you're buying a new engine outright, you can get a factory engine or reman pretty fast. If it's a builder like Bob Barrows, I think he has an 8-11 month lead time. For some things on the build, you need to have the engine hung so that can... hang you up.

If you decide to buy a mid-time or build your own engine, choosing the best candidate is a selective process and you may find the right one earlier than expected.