Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tail Lift Handle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tail Lift Handle

I have been flying a C180K for several years. That plane had tail lift handles that pulled out of the tail section. I decided that that was what I wanted for my Bearhawk.

I sent drawings to Bob to get his input and approval.

Here is what I have done and a copy of the drawing that I sent to Bob.

The lift handles are added between stations GK and HJ. I modeled the bar for 300 pounds fore aft load, 300 vertical and 150 lateral. All loads were applied simultaneously.The flanges/cups are to attach the fabric. The cross tube and the lift bar are inserted from the outside and will be retained by cover plates attached out side of the fabric to the flanges.
    You do not have permission to view this gallery.
    This gallery has 3 photos.

This is a brilliant idea.

The stock handles give almost zero leverage. I am certainly not a fan.

Comment

Great idea! I would imagine you could jack on one side if you are by yourself, or would that put too much downward tension on the opposite side?
      Eric Newton - Long Beach, MS
      Bearhawk Tailwheels and Builder's Manuals
      http://bhtailwheels.com

Comment

I too have pondered a similar placement for handles, especially helpful for when on skis. Would like to see details on the moving tube retention strategy. I was thinking possibly using streamlined tubing permanently in the wind for no moving parts.

Mark J

Comment