Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need to learn CAD as first step - advice please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need to learn CAD as first step - advice please

Hi -
    I'm planning to build bearhawk 5

i know how to use lathes and mills, but I'm totally useless at CAD, and I think putting the drawings into CAD and / or solidworks would make life way easier, and also I would learn good skills

total beginner - never used any CAD
    I got a bachelors in aeronautical engineering and aerodynamics 1995-1999, which was 23 years ago. back then we used pencils and paper. it ouwld be fair to say I am useless as CAD

questions I have are -

1 - what program should I learn how to use
    2- how is the best way to learn ? youtube?

There is definitely no need to do any CAD. If you'd like to, that's a separate pursuit that might be fun or enlightening.

Comment

• Daniel
      Daniel commented
      Editing a comment
      I wouldn't call it a separate pursuit. It certainly can be helpful for a builder to visualize concepts prior to building. Especially the instrument panel layout. Garmin makes most components available for solidworks from their website so that builders can fine tune and thier concepts prior to cutting any parts. Many other applicable uses as well. Needed, no...useful, absolutely!

• Sir Newton
      Sir Newton commented
      Editing a comment
      CAD programs do not build or test fly airplanes. lol

Pierre: