Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Spot priming/painting fuselage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spot priming/painting fuselage

This topic came up in the other thread about powder coating and reminded me that I've no idea what the best technique for touch-up is on the QB fuselage. I've got a few places where the packaged parts riding inside the fuse rubbed the paint down to metal. I also plan to do a little welding, so I'll need to touch up. I have zero painting experience other than some wet sanded rattle can work when I was young.

I got some of the 2-part paint from Mark that AviPro uses. Can I use a light duty HVLP gun? My compressor is nothing to write home about but for spot shooting will that be adequate?

For prep, is it as easy as rattle canning a little zinc chromate? If not, what should I prime with?

Thanks.
    Last edited by Zzz; 12-23-2014, 11:55 AM.

For spot repair on your fuselage a good quality rattle can self etching primer should be fine, I like SEM products self etch. There is a big difference in the cheepo rattle can paints, don't fall for the price. Better though would be to do all your welding and repairs then mix up a small cup of 2 part epoxy like Poly Fiber's EP-420 or Stewarts Ekopoxy. If you're doing just a little at a time you can turn the gun fan way down and you should have enough air. Just make sure everything is good and clean before you shoot. Don't worry too much, most of the tubes get covered or painted over later anyway.
    Dave

Comment

I think the main concern is just to be sure that before you cover, any paint that you've applied is not going to be lifted by the covering process. This is more likely to be a problem with Polyfiber than Stewart systems. Like Dave says, you can spray a rattle can primer as you go, and then apply an epoxy all at once at the end if necessary.

Comment