Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help me choose a tailwheel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help me choose a tailwheel

I'm trying to decide on a TW but can't bring myself to pull the trigger. I'm leaning towards the Matco T-11D but I have zero experence with the Matco. George is great to talk to on the phone and said it will work great but I've yet to see any Matco TWs on heavy tailed planes like the BH.

I have some experience with the Bob Wheel but I'm not a fan. I'm still kinda considering the Tundra Bob Wheel but my experience with the original makes me think of it as a last resort. The Baby Bushwheel of out of my budget. I am considering using the Alaska Tundra Tires fork kit and putting together a TW based on the Scott 3200.

Any thoughts or experiences from anyone? Any other options I haven't considered?
    Scratch Built 4-place Bearhawk. Continental IO-360, 88" C203 McCauley prop.

Of course you can do whatever you choose on your homebuilt. But I would like builders reading this forum NOT to get the impression that the Bob designed tailwheel as made by Eric Newton has been problematic. I have been running a 10" on my BH for almost 1,000 hours with no problems. I started out with a Scott 3200 that gave me LOTS of problems. And I hear very few to no complaints about the Bob wheel as manufactured by Eric by other customers.

Jon, no problem with whatever you want for your plane - but I had to step up and say some good words about what Eric builds. Mark

Comment

That's what these forums are about Mark. I haven't any experience with the Bob wheel built by Eric and I know Bob revised it since the original design which is the one I had 40hrs with. Great to hear the ones manufactured by Eric are good!

Comment

What is the mission you have in mind?

What don't you like in a tailwheel?

Comment