Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Carbon Fiber Skin vs Fabric Skin

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carbon Fiber Skin vs Fabric Skin

Full disclosure I'M NEW at all this, have some background in building vehicles and such and hold my PPL. Fell in love with the BearHawk and am currently in the learning and research phase of all this. No I'm not made of money but came across this while looking into stuff for my other non pilot life. feel free to scold me anytime I spout nonsense! I went down this rabbit hole purely out of curiosity (seen a squirrel and chased it).

I was curious (minus cost prohibition) if anyone has tried to replace a traditional fabric (like polly fiber fabric) with a carbon fiber composite? I did some comparisons of very thin 1mm Carbon Fiber (CF) sheeting to fabric in the area of durability, toughness, pressures and so on. I am NOT suggesting the use of CF for anything structural, just skins. I know there has been some concerns out there on blogs and such about when CF fails its catastrophic. I talked with my aunt who is a composites engineer (not in aviation) about some of those concerns. Her thought was the CF sheeting could be (in theory) safely used as skins, even on control surfaces because the loads are so low. as for concern about failures, anything could happen but the typical rock pelting from prop-wash on the horizontal stabilizer shouldn't cause catastrophic failure and would likely be highly resistant to that kind of use in a backcountry setting. I found some sheets pretty close to 4'x8'x1mm for pretty reasonable (as far as CF prices go) for about $380 a sheet. I have no idea how much would be needed to skin the Bearhawk as a direct replacement for fabric.

I called a local manufacture (in the USA) for some Q&A about CF sheets and found the following: