Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Questions about Ground Looping in Tailwheel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about Ground Looping in Tailwheel

I am afraid I may be opening up a old wound with this topic that may seems like a 4 letter words in the tailwheel community. my questions are: is the tailwheel more prone to ground looping compare to tricycle (nose) gear? and how to minimize/avoid ground looping incident when flying with tailwheel?

here are my background information:
    I am new to this forum; began my real world flying early last year with a flight school and almost finishing up with my instrument rating flying Cessna 172. My flight school just purchased Super Decathlon recently and I am planning to get my tailwheel endorsement after they have a qualify CFI to teach in this plane. The fact is I have zero experience with tailwheel and am a new aviator.

based on my research, I found a few experienced tailwheel pilots have had groud looping incident one point or another that caused serious damage to their aircraft. A Patrol at
    Oshkosh in 2017 and a pilot of this forum mentioned he ground looped that damaged his tailwheel, then end up building a new one airplane instead of fixing the damage one.

I am still researching and learning about the home built aircraft and want to make sure i cover this concern before i fully commit to building a tailwheel.

any input welcome, thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Rey_L; 03-29-2020, 11:08 AM.

Taking the training in the Decathlon for your tailwheel endorsement will answer most of your questions yourself. Instead of relying on all us experts on the internet. Mark

Comment

Originally posted by Rey_L View Post