Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Trying to cure "Bird Landing on a Wire" Syndrome

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to cure "Bird Landing on a Wire" Syndrome

I thought some might find this interesting, so I'll share for "geek" leaning Bearhawk flyers out there. I'm a novice at this stuff so claim ignorance may be involved.

My New Year's resolutions were to:

- Improve the consistency of my landings and landing distances

- Learn something new

A little background:

I participate in backcountry flying in all the wonderful places like New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, Idaho, and Oregon. Truly living the dream! I concentrate totally on backcountry techniques and always trying to improve skills. That said, this is backcountry oriented and not intended for GA flying. They are two different worlds and require different skillsets, commitment, and approaches.

11-17-2021 Bearhawk - Mexican Mountain 0.jpg
    At Mexican Mountain, last fall.

So the goal is STOL and landing short. I had migrated to some bad habits in the quest for super short landings. Short version - pretty slow, steep approaches that would require some pretty "perfect" timing and skills to "land on the wire". I would hit a 230 landing distance then the next try would be a 825 distance. It was frustrating me and I couldn't get it right every time. I had no consistency. That 825 meant that the shortest strip my personal limitations (2 x longest) would put strips shorter than 1650 out of consideration. that sucked!!! So giving up on participating in STOL contest and going for consistent, short landings. Don't have a spare airplane in the barn if I bend or break this one!

The learn something new thing? Some people learn a foreign language as a brain exercise. My version of that is to learn Excel which is truly a foreign language.