Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Header tank design and location

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Header tank design and location

I have read (by googling) the threads that popped up about header tanks on FI Bearhawks on this forum. I think I want to use one as well for the SDS EFI that I want to use. I have no experience with designing a header tank.

Most tanks should be filled from the top, and "feed" fuel or fluid from the bottom. An aircraft header tank will also be vented to both wing tanks, with the vent lines coming from the top of the header tank, vented to the top of the main tanks.

Is shape important? If the system is designed correctly, the header tank should remain full until 1 or both main tanks are empty. Would there be any problem "filling" the header tank from the bottom? That would make a few things easier. The returned fuel should be able to force the rest of the header tank up, and they should still vent upward. At least that is my thinking.

Has anybody else put much thought into this, as well as what shape, and where to locate the tank. Tall/thin, mounted up by the firewall? Low, flat, under the floor or under the seats (front or rear). 3 gallons minimum si recommended by the EFI manufacturers to prevent excess fuel heating in the header tank.

I won't let this delay the build. I am buying a rebuilt carburetor from Bob, and it will run on that first. If I think the EFI will delay the first flight, it will also fly on the carburetor first. I sort of want to do that anyway.

Thanks for any input.

What some FI systems require is a return line to a tank. You should not need a header tank from what I have heard. On my RV8 injection system I just put in a loop that brought fuel back upstream of the boost pump. So I suggest looking at the different FI systems and the requirements for the system you want to use. Mark