Bearhawk Aircraft Bearhawk Tailwheels LLC Eric Newton's Builder Manuals Bearhawk Plans Bearhawk Store

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Instruments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Instruments

Hi All. I’m new to the experimental scene and very excited to be building a Bearhawk 4 QB kit. I’m a dinosaur so not up with the modern wizardry of instrumentation. My aim is to build the simplest and lightest that I can and with that in mind planning a Garmin G5 experimental with backup battery as flight instrument but uncertain what the best solution for engine instrumentation is. I need Manifold pressure, RPM, oil T &P, as a minimum. I’m hearing some folks are using iPads with Bluetooth connection to senders and others have stand alone or combined solutions. Any suggestions Or comments appreciated.

For the price, I don't think you can beat the GRT EIS.

Comment

• JimParker256
      JimParker256 commented
      Editing a comment
      One thing I REALLY like about the GRT EIS is that you basically get a "dual display" with that system... It connects (via serial port) to the EFIS to provide graphical display of all the engine data, but it also has a more primitive "dot-matrix text display" that displays the data simultaneously in text (or very primitive "histogram" graphics) form. If the EFIS ever goes "black", as long as you still have minimal electrical power, the GRT EIS will be available to help you manage the engine.
      My current airplane has the GRT EIS as its only engine instrument (no EFIS - yet) and I've grown quite fond of the unit. No muss, no fuss – just works.